Pascal's story / journey

I’m a complete beginner when it comes to piano playing. And to be honest, piano was not my first love in terms of instruments. It was, and actually still is, drums. Sadly I never learned to play the drums, something I regret till this very day.

I never took up playing drums due to my first music teacher in school. Everyone will agree that music notation is not the most fun part to learn. But this teacher had the talent to make music notation even more boring than it really is. That let me to turn away from it and that is the reason why I never started learning drums or music theory for that matter.

Many years later in my life, about 10 years ago, I decided I really needed to start learning some instrument. Since drums would be too noisy in the house I chose the piano. I also found Andrew’s piano lessons on Youtube and started to watch and practice along with the videos. But unfortunately I gave up after about a month or so. This was completely my own fault. Somehow I could not stay motivated; I guess the busy professional life was to blame.

Anyway, today 10 years later, I decided to start the journey again. But this time I need to hang in there! I still remembered Andrew’s videos and these where once again the first lessons I took. This is also how I stumbled upon Piano Planet. To be honest, I haven’t done much with the app yet. I bought a book (Alfred’s Basic Adult All-in-One Course) and started from page 1.

The book is fine but I’m looking to get some feedback while playing and exercising and this is where the app comes into play. I’ll probably start the lessons in the app as well. What I’m really missing is a good training schedule; a training schedule that grows with my piano playing. The book is great though and explains everything very well but the training exercises are a bit on the thin side I believe. Maybe the topic ‘training schedule’ could be one of the topics in Piano Planet?